Yukon.—The Yukon Territory is administered by the Lands, Northwest Territories and Yukon Branch of the Department of the Interior as in the case of the Northwest Territories. The Comptroller, resident at Dawson, is the executive head of a local elective government of three members termed the Yukon Council, with jurisdiction over local matters. The Comptroller acts on instructions from the Governor in Council or the Minister of the Interior. Hospitals, schools, motor roads, and other amenities of modern life have been provided and, in addition to the overland telegraph line, wireless stations at Dawson and Mayo link up with the outside world through the Northwest Territories and Edmonton.

The route ordinarily taken to enter Yukon is from Skagway, Alaska, on the south, thence by the White Pass and Yukon Railway to Whitehorse, and by river boat to Dawson.

The use of aircraft for transportation purposes is increasing and during 1934 landing fields were conditioned at Whitehorse, Dawson and Mayo, a temporary licence being issued for the first-mentioned field. In 1935 the Whitehorse and Dawson fields were further developed, while considerable work was done on fields at Selkirk and Carcross.

Yukon has produced over \$200,000,000 worth of gold since the Klondike rush, but the old placer claims, operated with cradle, pick and shovel, have given place to consolidated holdings worked with hydraulic dredges and other modern machinery. Silver, lead, copper, tungsten and coal are known to exist in paying quantities, and of late years the development of the silver-lead ores of the Mayo district has been one of the major factors in the growth of lode-mining enterprises. There is a hydro-electric installation of 13,200 h.p. in Yukon, but this is only a small proportion of the possible installation which will be developed as required.

Although fishing, agriculture (including fur-farming), and some lumbering are carried on as auxiliary industries, the future of Yukon is inevitably bound up with mining development.

Subsection 2.—Provincial Public Lands.

In the Maritime Provinces, in Quebec, Ontario and British Columbia (except the Railway Belt and the Peace River Block) the public lands have been administered by the Provincial Governments since Confederation. Owing to the transfer of the natural resources to the Prairie Provinces and British Columbia, as outlined in Chapter XXVII, p. 1019 of the 1931 Year Book, public lands in all provinces are now under provincial administration. In Prince Edward Island, all the land is alienated and there are no provincial public lands.

Those interested in securing information regarding provincial public lands are referred to the following officials of the respective provinces: Minister of Lands and Forests, Halifax, N.S.; Deputy Minister of Lands and Mines, Fredericton, N.B.; Deputy Minister of Lands and Forests, Quebec, Que.; Deputy Minister of Lands and Forests, Toronto, Ont.; Director of Lands, Department of Mines and Natural Resources, Winnipeg, Man.; Director of Lands, Department of Natural Resources, Regina, Sask.; Director of Lands, Department of Lands and Mines, Edmonton, Alta.; Deputy Minister of Lands, Victoria, B.C.

Section 2.—National Defence.*

Before the outbreak of the Great War, the Canadian Militia consisted of a Permanent Force, which on Mar. 31, 1914, numbered 3,000 officers, non-commissioned officers and men, and an Active Militia, which at the same date numbered

^{*}Revised by H. W. Brown, Asst. Deputy Minister, Department of National Defence. 6302-66